E-Tablets for Local Special Needs Students


Local State Members have announced that 16 local schools in Pine Rivers and Kallangur electorates have received a total of 172 tablet computers (e-tablets) as part of the Newman Government's $3.5 million eLearning for Special Needs Students' initiative.

Mr Seath Holswich said the Newman Government had provided more than 7,000 e-tablets for Queensland state schools with special education programs.

"This election commitment is opening up a whole range of new learning possibilities for students with a disability," Mr Holswich said.

"We have delivered iPads and e-tablets to more than 40 state special schools across Queensland, as well as other state schools offering special education programs, for the start of this term."

"It is exciting to see that students are already using this technology enthusiastically, and how teachers are putting the devices to good use in the classroom to cater for students' diverse learning needs."

Mr Trevor Ruthenberg said the assistive features of e-tablets had enormous potential for students with a disability, helping them to communicate and learn.

"Children who are unable to speak can type words and have the e-tablets verbalise their thoughts," Mr Ruthenberg said.

"Other students use eye movement to operate the technology, making communication and learning much easier for those who have severely restricted physical mobility."

"Students have greater independence, more input into their learning, and are initiating and expressing their thoughts through this technology."

Mr Holswich said the eLearning for Special Needs Students' initiative followed a successful trial.

"Feedback from teachers and parents was that this technology provided significant benefits for students, including improved student engagement," Mr Holswich said.

"Other trials interstate and overseas have also demonstrated how special needs students have achieved better outcomes at school through the use of e-tablet technology."


Full list of Pine Rivers and Kallangur Schools receiving e-tablets:

Bray Park State High School 10
Bray Park State School 10
Dakabin State High School 10
Dakabin State School 10
Dayboro State School 5
Kallangur State School 10
Kurwongbah State School 10
Lawnton State School 10
Murrumba State Secondary College 10
Narangba State School 10
Petrie State School 10
Pine Rivers Special School 20
Pine Rivers State High School 15
Strathpine State School 10
Strathpine West State School 10
Undurba State School 12