Local MPs Welcome Maintenance Funding for Local Schools


Seath Holswich MP and Trevor Ruthenberg MP today announced that sixteen Pine Rivers and Kallangur schools would receive a total of $2.5 million in vital maintenance funding thanks to the Newman Government's $200 million school maintenance fund.

Mr Holswich said each school would receive up to $160,000 to fix existing priority maintenance issues under the two-year Advancing Our Schools Maintenance Fund.

"The previous Labor Government left our schools with a $292 million maintenance backlog that saw schools in Pine Rivers fall into disrepair," Mr Holswich said.

"Whether it's peeling paint, uneven footpaths or torn and stained carpet, too many of our state schools have maintenance issues that have become potential health and safety hazards for our children."

"This new fund is about making our schools safer. It's about ensuring our children have access to the best school facilities and a safer environment in which to learn," Mr Ruthenberg added.

Minister for Education, Training and Employment, John-Paul Langbroek MP, said in addition to the Maintenance Fund schools were now untied from QBuild which meant private providers could carry out maintenance work.

"Schools now have the option to choose to continue to use QBuild or to go directly to the market for the delivery of all planned and routine breakdown maintenance," Mr Langbroek said.

"To qualify for the funding P&Cs will be asked to obtain three quotes from professionals to submit with their application. The Government will also ask P&C organisations and schools to contribute to the maintenance task if they have funds to do so."

"This approach is about empowering local school communities and reflects our belief that a government bureaucracy, no matter how well intentioned, does not always know best."

Mr Langbroek said $100 million would be available in 2012-13 and a further $100 million would be available in 2013-14.

The following schools in Pine Rivers and Kallangur electorates will receive maintenance funding:

Pine Rivers Electorate
Bray Park State High School $160,000
Bray Park State School $160,000
Dayboro State School $160,000
Lawnton State School $160,000
Pine Rivers State High School $160,000
Strathpine State School $160,000
Strathpine West State School $160,000

Kallangur Electorate
Dakabin State High School $160,000
Dakabin State School $160,000
Jinibara State School $160,000
Kallangur State School $160,000
Kurwongbah State School $160,000
Narangba State School $160,000
Petrie State School $160,000
Pine Rivers Special School $99,286
Undurba State School $160,000